Sa Puig De Sa Roca

In August last year, I spent a few blissful days on the Spanish Island of Menorca. I had been there before when I was 14 (also the location of being explicitly drunk for the first time), but hadn’t been back since. As I work in a primary school, holidays have now become difficult due to the expense, however, we found a good deal on flights and accommodation so off we went. Whilst there, I experienced some wonderful food. To me, food is one of life’s greatest pleasures. It is one thing that everyone can enjoy, it unites people and can also divide them. It can take you on an adventure, teach you new things and can give you some of life’s extraordinary offerings.

A few years ago, myself and two friends treated ourselves to a Michelin star meal at Marcus Wareing’s restaurant at The Berkeley in London. It was of course a sensational experience and a feast for the palette. The only criticism we had was that the second course at the time was described as a langoustine dish – you can only imagine our surprise and even worse, disappointment, when a jelly dish was put in front of us. It was pleasant enough, but when you’re expecting something that resembles a small lobster, you can’t help but feel crushed inside.

17105977_1421644584523480_1174116462_o
Pina Colada, langoustines and a view.

Now a few years on in a little restaurant in Mahon harbour, I finally experienced freshly caught and cooked langoustines and they did not disappoint! I believe I didn’t utter a single word throughout the meal and I could have them every night!

 

 

A couple of nights after this remarkable meal, it was my 28th Birthday where we went to the most spectacular restaurant; Sa Puig De Sa Roca. The setting was beautiful and the ambiance serene. I didn’t want to leave. The service was outstanding, attentive and friendly. The only trouble was, everything sounded so delicious I couldn’t decide what to go for! I went for the stuffed cod in a red pepper sauce, followed by fillet 17175842_1421596841194921_1732101659_osteak with rosemary potatoes and blue cheese sauce. It was a taste explosion with every bite and you find yourself wishing the plate will magically refill itself! It was the most relaxing evening and I couldn’t have wished for a better place to spend my birthday. It is also a bed and breakfast – if I were to ever return to Menorca, this is the only place I would want to visit.

 

17091118_1421596937861578_1272276638_o
Delicious fillet steak – cooked to perfection.

If you ever visit Menorca, I urge you to go here. It will not disappoint! Here is the link for their Facebook page – https://www.facebook.com/pages/Sa-Puig-De-Sa-Roca-Restaurant/184848771570486

 

 

 

17121537_1421644674523471_1134818231_o
Even the menus are perfect!

 

 

Leave a Reply

